GREEK PANZANELLA SALAD

Photo by Alexa Speyer

I haven’t made this salad in a while, and I forgot that it was one that my family loved. So I decided I would make it this weekend. It’s the perfect, refreshing side dish on a hot, summer day. And since I was preparing it, why not repost it? After all, the recipe is buried deep behind so many blog posts that came after it. 

Panzanella salad is a bread salad that is traditionally Italian. But, what can I say? I have to put my own spin on it by Greekifying it. It’s a fusion of sorts—like my family. My husband is Italian so this salad honors both of our culinary cultures.

Buon Appetito & Kali Orexi

Greek Panzanella Salad

Party size

4 – 5 large tomatoes cut in thick slices

2 cucumbers cut in chunks or thick slices

1 small red onion thinly sliced

2 red, yellow or orange peppers cut in chunks

1 round Tuscan bread with crusts removed and cut into 1-1/2 cubes

1 pound slab of feta cheese

1 cup basil leaves

(Fresh dill, chives and parsley may be added also)

Heat a large skillet and coat with olive oil. Add the bread cubes, constantly turning as each side browns. This can be done a day ahead.

Cut up all the vegetables and place in a very large mixing bowl. Drizzle with oil and vinegar, tossing until coated. Add salt and pepper to taste, a teaspoon of sugar and 2 cloves of crushed garlic. Mix well. Add the basil and any other fresh herbs you like. I always add oregano, but I also add fresh dill, chives or parsley if I have it on hand. Break the feta into chunks and add to the salad. Add the toasted bread cubes. Toss to coat. Transfer into a large salad bowl. There should be little or no excess dressing left in mixing bowl. If you would like to make the dressing ahead, I recommend mixing the fresh herbs in with the vegetables, not the dressing. If you only have dried herbs on hand you can add the herbs to the dressing. Below is a Greek salad dressing using dried herbs.

Greek Salad Dressing

1 cup olive oil

¼ cup red wine vinegar

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1 tablespoon dried parsley

1 teaspoon sugar

2 cloves crushed garlic

Combine all ingredients and whisk well, shake in a cruet or emulsify in a blender. Drizzle over salad, mixing and tossing to coat. Do not overdress. You will not use all the dressing. Keep in the fridge for later use.

2 thoughts on “GREEK PANZANELLA SALAD

  1. Pingback: GREEK PANZANELLA SALAD – cheffie’s kitchen | My Meals are on Wheels

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.