Visinatha Martini



If you’ve read my books, then you know I insert recipes between some of the chapters. But this is the first cocktail I’ve added. I love anything cherry-flavored. Visinatha is like a cherry preserve. It can also be purchased as a syrup. My mother and Yiayiá would stir a few tablespoons of this confection into a glass of cold water and give it to me as a treat. The real treat was getting to the bottom and fishing out the cherries. In my latest release, Love is Worth Fighting for, Krystina discovers the visinatha martini in Athens and has one too many!

Krystina’s Vyssinatha Martini
 
Ingredients
1½ ounces cherry vodka
2 ounces visinatha or visinatha syrup
1 ounce ginger ale
Splash of lemon juice
 
Add all the ingredients into a shaker with ice cubes. Shake and then pour into a martini glass.
 
Buy visinatha at a Greek grocery, specialty store, or Amazon. (Search for Greek cherry preserves). This delicious cherry preserve serves as a dessert on its own. Or, add to a glass of water for a refreshing beverage. Visinatha is also available as a syrup. Either will work with this recipe. However, for best results, I recommend the visinatha preserves.

This is just one of several recipes featured in the book. More to come! Or download a copy of Love is Worth Fighting for. Also available in paperback. https://amzn.to/3a5vuCw

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.