LABOR DAY WEEKEND IS HERE! WHAT ARE YOU GRILLING TODAY?

 

 

IMG_2172I wish that I could say it was Memorial Day and the summer was just beginning. But, alas, the Labor Day weekend has begun. Give me a few minutes while I dry my tears. While autumn on Long Island is beautiful and I enjoy it, I am never quite ready for it to arrive. On a positive note, summer doesn’t technically end until September 21st, and I plan on savoring every minute of it.

A few days ago, my souvlaki and tzatziki post was all Greek. Today, I think we’ll head to Mexico. Or pretend to. But at least the food will be inspired by Mexican flavors.

A few years back, I ordered this grilled corn at a beachfront restaurant in Westhampton after I noticed that every table around us had this corn on their plates. It was so delicious, and I had a pretty good idea what the corn was marinated in, so I came up with my own version of it. I’m so glad that I did because, sadly, the restaurant burned down and it never reopened.

I thought a good pairing for the corn would be grilled chicken in a similar marinade. Both the corn and chicken are so quick and easy to make. To make the meal complete, toss together in a bowl your favorite veggies in olive oil, a touch of balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper and your favorite herbs. Place on the grill in a vegetable grill pan and cook until tender crisp. I like onions, broccoli, cauliflower, and mushrooms. Also a crowd pleaser – red peppers and zucchini.

Grilled Corn with Lime and Queso Fresco

6 ears of corn

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 tablespoon tequila

2 tablespoons cilantro

¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 lime – juice and zest

½ cup grated queso fresco

Mix together the oil, tequila, cilantro, cayenne pepper, black pepper and the lime and zest. Marinate the corn for 20 minutes. I like to rub it on so that every part of the ear of corn has the marinade. Grill on each sides until the kernels turn brownish. (About 4-5 minutes on each side) Remove from grill and sprinkle generous amounts of the grated queso fresco on the corn.

Tequila Lime Marinade for Chicken

1 ½ pounds boneless chicken, sliced thin

¼ cup vegetable oil

¼ cup tequila

1 tablespoon cilantro

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 tablespoon sweet chili sauce

2 limes – juice and zest

1 clove garlic, crushed

Whisk together in a bowl, oil, tequila, cilantro, black pepper, sweet chili sauce, garlic, limes and zest. Add chicken and marinate overnight. Grill until cooked through, about 5 minutes on each side if sliced thin.

*Try this marinade with shrimp or pork also.

A NEW BOOK CONTEST BEGAN TODAY AND WILL RUN THROUGH SEPTEMBER 21. ENTER FOR A CHANCE TO WIN ALL 12 BOOKS.

CLICK LINK BELOW:

http://ow.ly/o9z330eM4mL

21150223_1661997860491120_1313454236040822324_n

Leave a Reply

