YIAYIA’S LEMON CHICKEN AND POTATOES

IMG_4007

Comfort food—nothing soothes the soul better. For me, comfort food is anything my mom made for me growing up when I was under the weather, or needed warmth. For my children, it was the same—Yiayia’s cooking was what they craved. Yiayia is no longer with us, but her spirit lives on in her wise words, the traditions she taught us, the advice that still rings in our ears, and in her delectable food.

This lemon chicken and potato meal has always been one that I’ve made in my home, just as my mom had. Yet, when my children would have it at her home, they would savor every bite. I think this might have been for two reasons. First reason – her gas stove. Even though I would cook the food exactly the way she did, it never came out quite the same. The natural juices came out pulpier when she made it. She never used chicken broth – only water. I add the chicken broth in hopes of replicating the flavor she achieved with her gas stove. Don’t get me wrong. Mine comes out tasty. We all enjoy it. But it’s not exactly like my mom’s. Which brings me to the second reason. I call it the Yiayia Effect. Everything she did or made was special to her grandchildren—even more so now that they only have their memories to draw on. And I suppose this is why certain foods are comfort foods. Not only for the delicious flavor but also for how they make us feel inside.

Yiayia’s Chicken and Potatoes

4 split chicken breasts, bone in

3 pounds of medium sized potatoes, quartered

1½ cups chicken broth

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons butter

5-6 cloves garlic, sliced

2 large lemons

2 tablespoons dried oregano

Salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven – 350º

Place the chicken breasts in a roasting pan. Pour the chicken broth in the pan and arrange the quartered potatoes around the chicken. Drizzle the olive oil over the chicken and potatoes, and add a pat of butter on top of each breast. Squeeze the juice from 1½ lemon over the chicken and potatoes, reserving ½ to be sliced and placed over the dish before going into the oven. Sprinkle the garlic, salt, pepper and oregano evenly and place in the oven. Bake until the chicken is tender and the potatoes are crisp, about 1½ hours. Flip the chicken over once or twice during while roasting for optimal moistness.

6 thoughts on “YIAYIA’S LEMON CHICKEN AND POTATOES

  1. I am going to have to try this recipe.I was looking for some new chicken recipe and I will have to check this blog more often. Chicken is still the most affordable meats you can have now and its pretty good for you.

    • I’m glad you found me then. check out my chicken marinade on a past post. I marinate and grill boneless chicken breasts to have on hand for salads and paninis for the week. I get the most requests for this marinade. Also the pork or chicken souvlaki is a favorite also. I agree, chicken is reasonably priced, versatile and healthy.

  2. This looks lovely. I love one pot meals. I’m sure yours is just as good as Yiayias but I always think its the fond memories that can often make things taste better, it may not be the case that it was better, but the mind and memory are powerful things.

Leave a Reply

