Throwback Thursday! Kourabeithes

Twitter Banner-3

With the release of my novel, EVANTHIA’S GIFT, I’ve been reblogging recipes that have been mentioned by the characters. Anastacia and Soula bake for the holidays, throw parties for the neighbors and cook elaborate meals for their families. As their daughters, Sophia and Demi, grow to adulthood, they too learn the recipes that have been handed down from generation to generation. This post for kourabeithes was written five years ago, long before I wrote the book. But this is how I grew up and learned to cook; from my yiayia and my mother. EVANTHIA’S GIFT is more than an account of two women who found true love. It’s love in every sense. Agapi – love. The love of culture, heritage, family, history, food. It’s a reminder to be proud of who you are and where you came from. And it’s a reminder to hold the ones you love close to your heart and truly appreciate them.
Through Amazon, I am running a giveaway for 5 copies of EVANTHIA’S GIFT. Click this link to enter https://giveaway.amazon.com/p/bbee2c082dadf12d

cheffie's kitchen

IMG_1352

Originally, made this entry during the holiday season of 2010. I think I mentioned at Thanksgiving that my family is imbedded in tradition and I don’t think that’s about to change, nor do I want it to.

This time of year my home turns into a cookie factory. Each Christmas, my mother baked traditional Greek pastries and cookies and gave them out to friends and neighbors. I carried on that tradition—times ten! When my girls were in grade school there were so many people to give gifts to—classroom teachers, music teachers, dance and gymnastic teachers, and classroom aides. Honestly, the last thing any of them needed was another mug or #1 teacher paperweight, so I gave each teacher a tray of Greek cookies. They were unique and not at all like the usual Christmas cookies they’ received in the past. I continued this right through the girls’ high school years…

View original post 641 more words

Leave a Reply

