SOUVLAKI & TZATZIKI SAUCE

IMG_2973

Summer can never come quick enough for me. With the first warm weekend, I couldn’t get the patio furniture out fast enough and I had the grill fired up and ready for a long-awaited season of backyard cooking. I’m looking forward to sharing all my favorite grilling recipes!

Souvlaki marinade

 4 pounds of lamb, pork tenderloin, chicken, or beef

1 cup olive oil

4 cloves crushed garlic

1 tablespoon dried oregano, or 3 tablespoons fresh oregano

1 tablespoon dried basil or ¼ cup shredded fresh basil

1 teaspoon dried dill or 1 tablespoon fresh dill

Zest and juice of 3 lemons

¼ cup Dijon mustard

½ tsp. black pepper

* Please note- all measurements on herbs are estimated and up to your personal taste. If you like the flavor of one over another, add more or less, or delete the one you don’t like.

Cut meat in 1½-inch cubes and marinate overnight. I often marinate the lamb or beef for two day, but the chicken and pork should not be marinated for more than one day. I choose to make the cubes smaller than usual. Since I am alternating veggies and meat on the same skewer I don’t want the veggies to burn and for the meat to not be cooked through. If you want larger cubes of meat I suggest making separate veggie skewers. I use onions and peppers. Mushrooms and cherry tomatoes are a nice addition as well. Do not marinate the veggies until the last minute. Grill and enjoy!

* For extra moistness and flavor, make a little extra marinade and reserve. When the souvlaki comes off the grill, baste with the reserve.

 Tzatziki Sauce

 2 cups Greek yogurt*

4 tablespoons white wine vinegar

3 tablespoons olive oil

3 large cloves garlic, crushed

3 tablespoons fresh dill or 1 tablespoon dried dill

½ teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon sugar

Salt and pepper to taste

2-3 large cucumbers

* Opt for the fresh dill if you can.

** Prep- Peel and core the cucumbers from the seeds, and finely grate. Press through a mesh strainer to expel the water. The cucumber will make the sauce loose and runny if you skip this step.

Mix all ingredients together with a whisk. Chill before serving. Serve with souvlaki. Tzatziki also makes a refreshing dip. Prepare it a day ahead and the flavors will intensify.

*Greek yogurt is thicker than other yogurts. If you use any other yogurt, you must strain before making sauce.

 IMG_2971

2 thoughts on “SOUVLAKI & TZATZIKI SAUCE

  1. I love to grill too. I started about a month ago and have been doing chicken and hamburgers almost weekly! I always marinate my chicken in olive oil and lemon, but love your recipe with dijon mustard! YUM! Can’t wait to try this.
    xoxo

    Like

  2. The dijon gives a little extra zip! I’ve tried souvlaki marinades many ways, playing around with the ingredients. I made it the same way without the dijon and it wasn;t as flavorful. I also tried red wine which I tend to use in a lot of my cooking, but I still liked it better with the dijon. You’ll have to let me know what you think. Many of my friends have used this recipe and it’s become one of their favorites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

