Can this American Bake and Serve Scones to Two British Ladies?

IMG_2166

With my husband away this weekend, I decided to host a “girl’s only” patio party. What better way to end a beautiful Labor Day weekend than to relax by the pool with some friends, enjoying the warm weather and some good food? It’s too nice out to get bogged down with elaborate preparations, so I plan on keeping the menu simple—Marinated grilled chicken and steak, the grilled corn recipe I last posted, roasted potatoes and a tomato salad. For dessert, I will make blueberry scones.

I have a few desserts that I refer to as my easy “go to” recipes when I need something in a pinch or I don’t want to make too anything complicated. Baklava, revani or my cherry chocolate chip cookies are all easy and do not require much work or clean up. But I can bake a batch of scones in a half an hour—prep time included. The beauty of the scone is that you can use your imagination and put whatever you like in it, or whatever you happen to have on hand when you need to whip up a batch. I’ve used walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, chocolate chips, and dried cherries. The cinnamon chip is my daughter’s favorite. As long as you have butter and heavy cream you can create the scone of your dreams. I will warn you, this is not a low-fat recipe, but the best desserts usually aren’t.

Recently, I befriended Yvonne, a lovely lady from the British Isles. She complimented me by telling me my blueberry scones were the best she ever had. Imagine that! So the fact that she and her aunt will be two of my guests makes me a little less nervous to have to audacity to serve scones to these women from across the pond who grew up on scones. Hopefully, her aunt will share her opinion, but if she doesn’t think they are “the best”, I hope she will at least enjoy them.

Blueberry Scones

Preheat oven 425 degrees

2 cups flour

1/3-cup sugar

1-tablespoon baking powder

½ tsp. salt

7 tablespoons cold unsalted butter

1 ½ cups fresh blueberries

1 large egg

2/3 cup heavy cream

Zest from one small orange

1tsp. vanilla extract

*Hint– The secret to light, flakey scones is to not over mix the dough. The less you play with it, the better the result. Over mix the dough and you will get bricks.

In a large bowl whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

Cut butter into small pieces and drop in flour mixture.

Use a pastry blender to coat the butter cutting until butter pieces are no larger than the size of peas. Stir in the blueberries. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg, heavy cream, zest and vanilla. Mix the wet ingredients into the flour/butter mixture until just moistened. Gently form two balls with the dough. Place dough onto a floured surface and flatten to form a disc. Cut each disc in quarters or eighths, depending on how large you want your scones to be. Sprinkle with coarse sugar and place on a parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake until golden brown about 14 minutes. Cool on a baking rack.

*Hint– Substitute the blueberries for any other ingredient. 10 ounces of chocolate chips, 1-½ cups chopped nuts, etc.

IMG_2163 IMG_2162

Leave a Reply

